a very funny thing happened, as I have been reading this book of Meerman Scott. I learned a lot of stuff from it, I would say it opened my eyes. the web looks different for me now, or at least online marketing does.

the problem with this book is that I got over it so fast. at first Scott’s insights seemed briliant and compelling. wow, so you can do all those things, there really is a method to go by. not quite a method, to be precise. some sort of organized know-how, though. well, after I started digging things on the web and looking at problems the way Scott urged me to, it all made sense and all the book’s teachings seemed common sense talk – things rightly said, true and informative. but evident. doh! – I should start a blog to get some comments about my product or service.

I take this for a plus. the book has done its thing – it turned me on. and the fact is that you learn so fast about communicating on the web nowadays. I try to leave it behind now, and turn to it from time to time only for practical advice, in tiny bits.

the big picture about web marketing is clear now. web makes business grow, it’s cheaper, funnier and more interactive than old Marketing and PR methods. but I am no ald PR person, nor an experienced marketer. so, Meerman, you really had me from hello, it wasn’t worth spending so many chapters to convince me the old methods were not efficient in the new media. anyways, the case sudies are worth the bucks and the main point – web is NOT like a newspaper or television, it is more like a city, a whole new world with its rules – deserves a clear, concise formulation. „new rules” offers that formulation.

thank you Meerman Scott!

